Monthly Contest Information

ribbonWe have three categories each month. You can enter Scratchbuilt, Kit Bashed, or Kit built. This should allow anyone to enter anything they are proud of and at any skill level.

Judging is by popular vote but if you wish to have your model judged by NMRA rules for the Achievement Program we will make arrangements for you. We would like to offer more judged contests so that members could gain points and experience needed to earn Achievement Program recognition.

Rules Update:

At the June 2017 BOG meeting, the Board approved revised rules. Here are the results:

June 2017 revised Contest Rules. Word Doc or .PDF

Diorama Contest Information

"Preparations for the 2018 Diorama Contest have begun.  The contest judging will be held in conjunction with the 2018 Model Railroad TRAINing Day and General Meeting, scheduled for 18 – 19 March 2017.  Judging will consist of equal parts, technical and esthetic (popular vote).  The technical specifications for each diorama can be downloaded in 2 formats. Diorama Contest 2018 Word Doc and Diorama Contest 2018 PDF .

1st Tug-O-War and Hill Climb Results

Next Tug-O-War/Hill Climb will be at the March 2019 business meeting.


Here's the schedule:

2016 Contests

*Single class, judged on weathering alone.

2015 Contests

*Single class, judged on weathering alone.


2014 Contests

*Single class, judged on weathering alone.

2013 Contests

*Single class, judged on weathering alone.

2012 Contests

*Single class, judged on weathering alone.

2011 Contests

2010 - 2011 Year-End Winners

2009 Contests

2009 - 2010 Year-End Winners

Previous Year's Contests »

Note: Anyone having suggestions for the contest program is urged to contact a member of the BOG. Let your opinion count!